Enlightium Academy Support

Book Clubs (Grades 3-12)

Overview

  • Enlightium offers book clubs for Enlightium students. Students first select the Book Club option during Student Social Week.
  • The following week, Enlightium’s Book Club Coordinator will then provide each student with one or more books to choose from based on the number of registrants per grade level. Examples may include The Hobbit for younger students or Mody Dick for older students. Each Book Club will have a maximum number of participants, so students will need to quickly select the book they are most interested in.
  • Over the course of the semester, students read the book on their own and then discuss it with an Enlightium teacher and other students during the Book Club.
  • Students can choose to participate in semester one, semester two, or both.
    • Semester one: October 2021 - January 2022
    • Semester two: February 2022 - May 2022

Book Clubs Fulfill the Student Social Opportunity

  • Students who meet attendance and participation requirements are entered into a drawing for a $50 gift card at the end of the year.
  • Parents can register, opt-out, or submit a correction in the Enlightium Parents app by selecting "Social" in the main menu. Late registration is available for Book Clubs; however, students can only participate in Book Clubs during the second semester.
  • Students must attend at least three of the four book clubs to meet attendance requirements.

Elementary School Semester 2 Book Clubs

  • Option 1: Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan
    • Difficulty: Easy
    • Book Club Leader: Mrs. Chamberlain
    • Email: a.chamberlain@enlightiumacademy.com
    • Semester 2 Book Club dates and times:
      • Feb 16, 2022, at 1 pm PST/4 pm EST.
      • March 16, 2022, at 1 pm PST/4 pm EST.
      • April 13, 2022, at 1 pm PST/4 pm EST.
      • May 11, 2022, at 1 pm PST/4 pm EST

  • Option 2: Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis
    • Difficulty: Medium
    • Book Club Leader: Mrs. Chun
    • Email: k.chun@enlightiumacademy.com
    • Semester 2 Book Club dates and times:
      • Feb 23, 2022, at 12 pm PST/3 pm EST.
      • March 23, 2022, at 12 pm PST/3 pm EST.
      • April 27, 2022, at 12 pm PST/3 pm EST.
      • May 5, 2022, at 12 pm PST/3 pm EST.

  • Option 3: Mossflower by Brian Jacques
    • Difficulty: Medium
    • Book Club Leader: Mr. Suk
    • Email: n.suk@enlightiumacademy.com
    • Semester 2 Book Club dates and times
      • Feb 11, 2022, at 1 pm PST/4 pm EST.
      • March 11, 2022, at 1 pm PST/4 pm EST.
      • April 15, 2022, at 1 pm PST/4 pm EST.
      • May 13, 2022, at 1 pm PST/4 pm EST.


Middle School Semester 2 Book Clubs

  • Option 1: Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix
    • Difficulty: Easy
    • Book Club Leader: Ms. Garofalo
    • Email: n.garofalo@enlightiumacademy.com
    • Semester 2 Book Club dates and times
      • Feb 11, 2022, at 11 am PST/2 pm EST.
      • March 11, 2022, at 11 am PST/2 pm EST.
      • April 8, 2022, at 11 am PST/2 pm EST.
      • May 13, 2022, at 11 am PST/2 pm EST

  • Option 2: The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Steward

    • Difficulty: Medium
    • Book Club Leader: Ms. Lent
    • Email: k.lent@enlightiumacademy.com
    • Semester 2 Book Club dates and times
      • Feb 24, 2022, at 10 am PST/1 pm EST.
      • March 31, 2022, at 10 am PST/1 pm EST.
      • April 21, 2022, at 10 am PST/1 pm EST.
      • May 26, 2022, at 10 am PST/1 pm EST.


High School Semester 2 Book Clubs

  • Option 1: Animal Farm by George Orwell
    • Difficulty: Medium
    • Book Club Leader: Mr. Rothe 
    • Email: d.rothe@enlightiumacademy.com
    • Semester 2 Book Club dates and times
      • Feb 23, 2022, at 11 am PST/2 pm EST.
      • March 23, 2022, at 11 am PST/2 pm EST.
      • April 20, 2022, at 11 am PST/2 pm EST.
      • May 23, 2022, at 11 am PST/2 pm EST.

  • Option 2: The Monuments Men: Allied Heroes, Nazi Thieves, and the Greatest Treasure Hunt in History by Bret Witter

    • Difficulty: Medium
    • Book Club Leader: Ms. Miller
    • Email: e.miller@enlightiumacademy.com
    • Semester 2 Book Club dates and times
      • Feb 16, 2022, at 1:30 pm PST/4:30 pm EST.
      • March 16, 2022, at 1:30 pm PST/4:30 pm EST.
      • April 20, 2022, at 1:30 pm PST/4:30 pm EST.
      • May 18, 2022, at 1:30 pm PST/4:30 pm EST.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.